Penn State College of Arts and Architecture
Center for the Performing Arts at Penn State

Eisenhower Auditorium

Eisenhower Auditorium, with a seating capacity of 2,500, is Penn State's primary theatrical performance space.

Opened in 1974 and later named for former University President Milton S. Eisenhower, the modern-style auditorium hosts almost 200 events each year. Most of the events presented by the Center for the Performing Arts occur on the Eisenhower stage.

Famed artists and ensembles including Alvin Ailey American Dance Company, Tori Amos, Kathleen Battle, Betty Carter, Tom Chapin, David Copperfield, John Davidson, Evelyn Glennie, Martha Graham Dance Company, Marilyn Horne, Billy Joel, Bill T. Jones, B.B. King, Kronos Quartet, Dave Matthews, Midori, Wynton Marsalis, the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Andre Previn, Della Reese, the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra, Andre Watts, Yo Yo Ma, and many others, have graced Eisenhower's stage.

The Nittany Valley Symphony is another leading user of the performance space.

The auditorium serves everything from University commencements to Future Farmers of America conferences. Offices for the Center for the Performing Arts--including the Arts Ticket Center, which handles ticketing services for all college units plus other clients--are located in the building.